​Board of Trustees


The League Board of Directors appoints the 14 members of the Risk Management Services Board of Trustees. The trustees establish overall policy, set rates and approve special services. In addition, the board retains professional consultants in the fields of investment management, actuarial study and financial auditing.


The trustees rely upon consulting actuaries to determine rate levels and reserves to pay future losses. The pool is reinsured for catastrophic claims. The professional staff of the League handles underwriting, claims, and risk management and loss control consulting services.


RMS Board of Trustees




Gerald "Jerry" Jones, Mayor, Morehead City

Vice Chair

Steve Maher, Mayor, Waxhaw


Miles Atkins, Mayor, Mooresville

Brenda Clark, Administration Director/Town Clerk, White Lake

Martha Sue Hall, Mayor Pro Tem, Albemarle

William Massengill, Mayor, Benson

Jody McLeod, Mayor, Clayton

William Morgan, Council Member, Statesville

Aaron Noble, Human Resources Director, Burlington

S. Mujeeb Shah-Khan, City Attorney, Monroe

Richard Woodruff, City Manager, Jacksonville


Paul Meyer, Executive Director, NCLM